Ronika – Do or Die

I hate this. I hate this so much. I hated it from the cover, I hated the opening electronic notes. When I read the MySpace explanation as ‘Melodic Blip Death Pop’ I wanted to strangle her. This is certainly not melodic blip death pop, this is just shit. This is a terrible EP, from a terrible artist. It’s something that sounds like it wants to be a mixture of everything electronic and funky from the past ten years. It has no right to be in existence.
The opening number ‘Do or Die’ has a repetitive ‘funky’ bassline, repetitive lyrics which consist of ‘do or die’ and yeah, those little ‘boow’ sounds that annoyed you slightly seven years ago, but now just make you want to strangle the person who invented it.
Track two ‘Paper, Scissors and Stone’ doesn’t get any better, again, some awful funky bassline, some synths which you can see they’ve tried to rip right from Justice and oh, what’s that, they’ve even used a vocorder to sound like Daft Punk, no, you sound like Cher. My ears nearly started bleeding when i listened to this one.
I didn’t even bother listening to the remixes, no that’s a lie. I thought it was my duty, just to make sure that you weren’t tempted to. The ‘Do or Die’ remix was someone trying to make it sound exactly like Justin Timberlake’s ‘Cry Me a River’, and yeah, more of those ‘boow’s. Awful.
Ooh, I’m trying an edgy dub remix. Really, its a crap dub remix, which throughout you hold out hope that it’d just drop something absolutely sick, but instead, it skirts around the edges, relying to heavily on awful vocals and keeping to the standard, boring, dub remix formula. Yawn.
In summary. Ronkia, do one.
— Keith Allen

Leave a comment